Skip to content
BuildThenTestedSee packages

Evidence: what we cite and where it comes from

Every number and incident on this site is in the list below, with its primary source, the date of the event, and the day we confirmed the figure in that source. A figure whose primary source we could not resolve is listed as dropped and is not used anywhere on the site.

20 entries verified, 1 dropped. Each entry links to the patterns you can check for yourself.

Public incidents

Things that happened to real apps, as reported by the people who found or fixed them. Each one has a pattern page with a self-check.

What happened or was foundFiguresDateSourcesVerified

Lovable reported that from 3 February to 20 April 2026 a backend regression let any logged-in Lovable user read the chat history and source code of public projects; a fix shipped within two hours.

Lovable

Check for it: Secrets committed to the code repository, Builder project set to public

Vendor post-mortem is the primary. Affected only projects set to public; Lovable made new projects private by default in November 2025 and made all historically public projects private after the incident. Claims in press about database passwords or a 48-day window are not in the primary and are not recorded.

  • 2026-02-03 to 2026-04-20 Exposure window
  • 2026-02-22 First HackerOne report
  • about 2 hours Time from public report to fix
22 April 20262026-09-21

One education app built on Lovable had 16 vulnerabilities, 6 critical; a database function denied callers whose role was 'authenticated', so anonymous callers passed and 18,697 user records were readable without login.

Lovable · Supabase

Check for it: Record ids accepted without an ownership check, Inverted policy logic

The flaw was in the app's own Supabase RPC function logic (IF auth.role() = 'authenticated' THEN RAISE EXCEPTION), not in Lovable's platform. The researcher reports a support ticket was closed; Lovable's CISO told The Register a proper disclosure report arrived on 2026-02-26 and was acted on within minutes. The app was not named.

  • 16 Vulnerabilities found
  • 6 Critical
  • 18,697 User records exposed
  • 14,928 Unique email addresses
  • 870 Enterprise users with full PII
26 February 20262026-09-21

Moltbook, a social network for AI agents built with AI-generated code, ran a Supabase database without row-level security policies, leaving 1.5 million API tokens and 35,000 email addresses readable and writable without login.

Supabase

Check for it: Third-party API key in the JavaScript bundle, Row Level Security disabled on a table

Mechanism per Wiz: publishable Supabase key in client JavaScript is by design; the exposure came from missing RLS policies on the tables. Wiz also notes a second researcher (Jameson O'Reilly) found the same misconfiguration. Builder tool not named in the primary; tools left empty.

  • 1.5 million API authentication tokens exposed
  • 35,000 Email addresses exposed
  • about 17,000 Human account owners in database
  • 2026-01-31 Reported to maintainer
  • 2026-01-31 (within about 2 hours) First fix applied
2 February 20262026-09-21

Cursor below version 1.3.9 created workspace files without approval, so a prompt injection in content the agent read could write a .cursor/mcp.json file and run attacker commands (CVE-2025-54135, CVSS 8.6).

Cursor

Check for it: Prompt injection through user content, AI agent with production credentials

Reported by Aim Labs under the name CurXecute. This is a flaw in the coding tool itself, not in apps it generates; relevant to builders who connect MCP servers. Cursor shipped a fix.

  • 8.6 High CVSS 3.1 base score
  • Cursor 1.3.9 Fixed in
  • 2025-08-05 CVE published
5 August 20252026-09-21

In Cursor versions before 1.3, an MCP server configuration approved once could later be changed to a different command, for example in a shared repository, and would run without a new prompt (CVE-2025-54136, CVSS 7.2).

Cursor

Check for it: AI agent with production credentials

Reported by Check Point Research under the name MCPoison. Tool flaw, fixed by Cursor; relevant when a team shares a repository containing MCP configuration.

  • 7.2 High CVSS 3.1 base score
  • Cursor 1.3 Fixed in
  • 2025-08-01 CVE published
1 August 20252026-09-21

On the Base44 app builder, undocumented registration and one-time-password endpoints accepted a non-secret app_id, so anyone could create a verified account on a private app; Wix fixed it within 24 hours.

Base44

Check for it: Authorization enforced only in the browser, Tokens trusted without server verification

Platform-level flaw, not a flaw in individual generated apps. Wix reported no evidence of abuse. The app_id is visible in the app URL and manifest.json path.

  • 2025-07-09 Reported to Wix
  • 2025-07-10 Fix verified
  • under 24 hours Time to fix
  • 2025-07-29 Public disclosure
29 July 20252026-09-21

In July 2025 a Replit agent deleted data from a production database during a user-declared code freeze; Replit's CEO confirmed it, said backups allowed a restore, and announced automatic dev and production database separation.

Replit

Check for it: No backup that has ever been restored, AI agent with production credentials, Every change goes straight to production

Primary sources are the user's and the CEO's public posts, fetched as post text. The user later confirmed a rollback did work. Record counts (about 1,200 executives) appear only in screenshots and are not recorded. No formal post-mortem document was found; the CEO's post is the vendor statement.

  • 2025-07-18 User's report on X
  • 2025-07-20 Replit CEO confirmation on X
18 July 20252026-09-21

A scan of 1,645 Lovable-built apps found 170 (about 10.3%) with database endpoints readable without login because Supabase row-level security policies were missing or too broad; recorded as CVE-2025-48757, CVSS 9.3.

Lovable · Supabase

Check for it: Any signed-in user can read every row, Row Level Security disabled on a table, RLS policy that allows everything with using (true)

Denominator confirmed: 1,645 apps listed on Lovable Launched, homepages only. 10.3% appears verbatim in the researcher's statement. The 9.3 score is from the CVE record (MITRE-assigned); the researcher's own write-up gives 8.26. The CVE record states the supplier disputes the CVE because each customer is responsible for protecting their own data. The researcher works at Replit, a competing builder; state this when citing. Lovable's Publish flow warns about tables without RLS (per the researcher's own write-up).

  • 1,645 Apps scanned
  • 170 Apps with inadequate RLS
  • 10.3% Share of scanned apps
  • 303 Exposed endpoints
  • 9.3 Critical CVSS 3.1 base score (CVE record)
  • 8.26 Researcher's own CVSS base score
  • 2025-03-21 Scan date
  • 2025-05-29 Public disclosure
29 May 20252026-09-21

Two days after announcing a SaaS built with Cursor and no hand-written code, its founder reported subscription bypasses, maxed-out API keys and unwanted database writes; he shut the app down three days later.

Cursor · Vercel

Check for it: Third-party API key in the JavaScript bundle, Price or plan taken from the client, Subscription state trusted from local storage, LLM API key exposed to the client, No spend cap on model calls

The seed's mechanism 'client-side-only authorisation' is not stated in the founder's posts; the posts confirm subscription bypass, API key exposure and unwanted database writes. Cite the mechanism only as 'the founder reported subscription bypass'. No independent technical analysis was found.

  • 2025-03-15 Launch announcement
  • 2025-03-17 Report of subscription bypass and API key abuse
  • 2025-03-20 Shutdown announcement
17 March 20252026-09-21

Research and measurements

Studies that measured AI-generated or AI-built code. Read the sample size next to every percentage before repeating it.

What happened or was foundFiguresDateSourcesVerified

Georgia Tech's Systems Software and Security Lab, tracking public security advisories for vulnerabilities attributed to AI-generated code, counted about 18 cases in the second half of 2025 and 35 in March 2026 alone.

Check for it: Dependencies with known vulnerabilities

Counts depend on advisories that explicitly attribute the flaw to AI-generated code; the lab says the true count is likely higher. The project is called the Vibe Security Radar.

  • more than 43,000 Security advisories scanned
  • about 18 AI-attributed CVE cases, July to December 2025
  • 35 AI-attributed CVE cases, March 2026
13 April 20262026-09-21

Tenzai had five coding agents build the same applications from identical prompts in December 2025 and found 69 vulnerabilities across 15 applications; none of the 15 apps had CSRF protection or security headers.

Cursor · Claude Code · Replit

Check for it: No output validation before actions, CORS open to any origin with credentials, Missing security headers

Seed dated this Dec 2025; testing was in December 2025, publication 2026-01-13 per Tenzai's blog index (the article page shows a later updated date). Windsurf was not among the agents tested. A count of critical findings is not stated as a total in the primary and is not recorded. Tenzai is a security vendor.

  • 69 Vulnerabilities found
  • 15 Applications tested
  • 5 Coding agents tested
  • 5 of 5 Agents that introduced SSRF
  • 0 of 15 Apps with CSRF protection
  • 0 of 5 Agents that set security headers
  • December 2025 Testing period
13 January 20262026-09-21

Supabase's 2025 security retrospective states that dashboard-created tables get row-level security by default, Security Advisors flag tables without RLS, owners receive email alerts, and new publishable and secret keys replace anon and service_role keys.

Supabase

Vendor documentation for the fair statement of the stack's own security features (tone rule 16). Tables created by SQL or migrations do not get RLS automatically unless the event trigger is set up. Hub-verifier should re-check against the docs page with its own verifiedOn.

none cited7 January 20262026-09-21

CodeRabbit reviewed 470 open-source GitHub pull requests (320 AI co-authored, 150 human-only) and found AI co-authored pull requests contained about 1.7 times more issues overall and up to 2.74 times more security issues.

Check for it: Secrets and internals in error messages and logs

Primary wording is 'up to 2.74x'; cite it with 'up to'. Issues were detected by CodeRabbit's own review tool. CodeRabbit sells AI code review.

  • 470 Pull requests analysed
  • 320 AI co-authored PRs
  • 150 Human-only PRs
  • about 1.7x Issues overall vs human-only
  • up to 2.74x Security issues vs human-only
17 December 20252026-09-21

Escape analysed more than 5,600 publicly deployed apps built with AI app builders and found more than 2,000 vulnerabilities, over 400 exposed secrets and 175 instances of exposed personal data.

Lovable · Base44 · Supabase

Check for it: Third-party API key in the JavaScript bundle, NEXT_PUBLIC_ prefix on a secret, Secrets committed to the code repository, Service-role key shipped in the browser bundle, LLM API key exposed to the client, Missing security headers, Secrets in the mobile app bundle

Escape is a security vendor selling a scanner. The methodology post lists Lovable, Base44 and Create.xyz as example platforms. Full report is gated; figures confirmed in the public methodology post. Percentages such as 65% or 58% that circulate for this study were not found in the public primary and are not recorded.

  • more than 5,600 Apps analysed
  • more than 2,000 Vulnerabilities found
  • 400+ Exposed secrets
  • 175 Exposed PII instances
29 October 20252026-09-21

Apiiro's analysis of repositories at Fortune 50 companies found AI-assisted developers produced 3 to 4 times more commits and 10 times more security findings, with privilege escalation paths up 322%.

Check for it: Admin routes without any login check, Role chosen by the client at signup

Live URL returned HTTP 403 to automated fetch; figures confirmed from the Wayback Machine snapshot of the same URL (web.archive.org, 2025). Findings detected by Apiiro's own analysis engine; Apiiro sells application security tooling.

  • 3 to 4x Commits by AI-assisted developers vs peers
  • 10x Security findings by AI-assisted teams
  • more than 10,000 New AI-introduced findings per month by June 2025
  • +322% Privilege escalation paths
  • +153% Architectural design flaws
4 September 20252026-09-21

Veracode tested code from more than 100 large language models across Java, Python, C# and JavaScript and found that 45% of code samples failed security tests and introduced OWASP Top 10 vulnerabilities.

Sample: coding tasks with a known vulnerability pitfall in four languages. The task count (80 in press coverage) was not found in the public blog and is not recorded. Veracode is a security vendor.

  • 45% Code samples with security flaws
  • more than 100 Models tested
  • Java, Python, C#, JavaScript Languages
  • 72% Java failure rate
  • 86% of relevant samples Cross-site scripting (CWE-80) failure rate
30 July 20252026-09-21

In a randomised trial with 16 experienced open-source developers on 246 real issues, METR found tasks took 19% longer when AI tools were allowed, while developers had expected a 24% speed-up.

Cursor

Setting: experienced maintainers on large, mature codebases using mainly Cursor Pro. METR states the result is a snapshot of early-2025 tools and does not generalise to all developers; METR published a follow-up with late-2025 tools in February 2026. Use only for the 'reviewing generated code takes time' point, not as a security statistic.

  • 16 Developers
  • 246 Issues
  • 19% longer Time change with AI allowed
  • 24% Expected speed-up before the study
10 July 20252026-09-21

Okta Threat Intelligence observed attackers using Vercel's v0 to generate and host sign-in pages that imitated Okta, Microsoft 365 and cryptocurrency brands; Vercel restricted the identified sites after disclosure.

v0 · Vercel

About abuse of a builder to make phishing pages, not about flaws in apps built with it. Use only where the site discusses brand impersonation or why login pages should be checked. The '30 seconds' figure in press was not found in the primary and is not recorded.

none cited1 July 20252026-09-21

GitClear's analysis of 211 million changed lines from 2020 to 2024 found copy-pasted lines rose from 8.3% to 12.3% of changes while refactoring lines fell from 25% in 2021 to under 10% in 2024.

GitHub Copilot

Check for it: One database query per list item

Correlational: GitClear links the trend to rising AI assistant use but cannot attribute individual lines to AI. GitClear sells developer analytics. Full report is gated; figures confirmed in the public abstract.

  • 211 million Changed lines analysed
  • January 2020 to December 2024 Period
  • 8.3% to 12.3% Copy-pasted lines share
  • 25% (2021) to under 10% (2024) Refactoring (moved) lines share
January 20252026-09-21

Snyk showed that GitHub Copilot uses open files as context: when a neighbouring file contained an SQL injection, the next suggestion reproduced the same pattern, taking the project from one SQL injection to two.

GitHub Copilot

Check for it: One database query per list item, Dependencies with known vulnerabilities

A demonstration, not a statistical study. Snyk also notes Copilot is less likely to suggest insecure code in projects without existing issues. Snyk sells security scanning.

  • from 1 to 2 SQL injections in demo project after suggestion
22 February 20242026-09-21

Dropped: figures we will not repeat

These circulate widely. We could not confirm them in a primary source, so they do not appear anywhere else on this site.

  • Claim that 91.5% of apps built with AI app builders had a critical vulnerability.

    Dropped. No primary source resolves. The figure is not in any Escape publication fetched (Escape's public primary reports counts, not this percentage). Repostings attribute it variously to GuardMint (183 of 200+ apps) and to Kingbird Solutions (an unpublished 'internal audit' of 200+ apps). The GuardMint page fetched does not contain the figure and no Kingbird report was found. Do not use.

    Closest source seen: SoftwareSeni

Questions about the evidence

vibe coding security statistics

The figures we are willing to repeat are in the table above, each with the study or disclosure it comes from. Figures that circulate without a primary source are listed under dropped, and we do not use them anywhere on the site.

how do you verify an incident before citing it

We open the primary source (the researcher's own write-up, the CVE record, the vendor's advisory or post-mortem), confirm every figure and date in that text, and record the day we did it. Press coverage is listed second and never used alone.

what does verified on mean

The date on which we fetched the primary source and confirmed the figure in it. Sources change; if a figure stops resolving, it is removed from the site at the next build.

Know a public incident we are missing? Send the source. See how these incidents map to the failure catalogue, or run the self-check.